Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Celebrating West Virginia Women Writers

Pearl S. Buck, the first American woman to win the Nobel Prize for literature (1938), who also won a Pulitzer Prize in 1932, is among the premier West Virginia women writers to be honored at 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, January 29 by the American Women Writers National Museum (AWWNM) in Washington, D.C.
“West Virginia's former Poet Laureate, the late Irene McKinney, West Virginia Music Hall of Fame honoree Hazel Dickens, and American Book Award winner novelist Denise Giardina will be showcased along with Pearl Buck,” said Janice Law, AWWNM founder.
The celebration, jointly-hosted by West Virginia Center for the Book, West Virginia Library Commission, and  West Virginia Humanities Council in Charleston, will be in the McLendon room of the National Press Club, 529 14th St. NW, 20045.
“These brilliant women are only a few of the mega-talented American women literati with West Virginia ties,” said Susan Hayden of the WV Center for the Book, an affiliate of the CFB in the Library of Congress.
A poster featuring women writers from West Virginia, including the four being honored, will be featured during January; it will remain permanently on the AWWNM website as part of AWWNM's 50-state Project to monthly honor in D.C., top-tier women writers from four states.
The AWWNM 50-state event will be held following AWWNM's January 29 noon-1:15 panel of Latina Poets.
All AWWM programs are free and open to the public.
The AWWM website offers more information:
Visit for more information about the West Virginia Center for the Book, which is funded by the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and the West Virginia Library Commission.

No comments:

Post a Comment